For the past year or so I've been contemplating the idea of sitting at random benches for 30 minutes to an hour and just allowing my thoughts (and believe me...I have more thoughts than I know what to do with) go where they may.
Today I decided to give it a try.
Here's the random bench:
Here's the scenery that surrounds the random bench:
I'm fortunate enough to say that this little hidden gem of a place is in the park right next to my house...about a 60 second walk. It's where the neighborhood kids often escape to climb trees or explore off into the woods.
Here's their favorite tree-climbin' tree:
Cool, huh?
I sat for almost an hour observing my surroundings and typing my thoughts. Sights. Sounds. Wildlife. I honestly prayed that a snake wouldn't slither by me. I dislike snakes. The butterflies were a lovely gift and a little squirrel worked busily off in the distance. I understand that the bee flying around was only doing what bees do but I didn't appreciate it flying so close to me. The wind rustled the leaves on the trees. The sun was shining directly on the random bench so it got a little warmer than I had anticipated. Good thing I brought a water bottle with me.
Peaceful doesn't even begin to describe it.
Alone with my thoughts.
And there are many thoughts today.
First, there's the fact that it's the first day of school. My son started 10th grade and my daughter not only started 5th grade but has moved from the elementary school into the middle school this year.
Of course my mind is on them today. How are they doing? Are they enjoying seeing all their friends? Are the teachers nice? How was lunch? Did Faith get her locker opened okay? Did the issue with Parker's uncooperative locker combination get resolved? Did he even TRY his locker? Did Faith turn in the papers that were required on this very first day?
I know when they get home they will have lots of first day stories...especially Faith. She was so excited to get back to school. Parker...not so much.
The second thing on my mind today is one of two upcoming studies I'll be leading at church starting next week.
I've never led a study before. Never. Not once. It's a little outside of my comfort zone. But I'm excited to be attempting it...not only once, but twice!
This morning I sat down with my books for the study I will be leading on Thursday mornings. I've already read the book, "Not A Fan" but today I watched all six of the videos included in the study.
Um...WOW!
The book had me hooked already in the acknowledgements. Yes...I read the acknowledgements. The chapters that followed were nothing less than amazing. The question, "Are you a fan of Jesus, or are you a follower of Jesus?" has me looking at life a whole lot differently. I mean, it's not JUST this book...there are other influences in my life over the last several years that have me taking a deeper look at the path(s) that I'm on. But this book has really made me rethink who I think I am and who God wants me to be. That's one of the reasons I opted for this study for this particular Thursday morning group. It's a book, that when I was reading it, made me wish I had someone I could talk to about it. I think this group will provide that. I hope those in the study feel the same way.
Then today, watching the videos, only enhanced the significance of the book.
I needed time on this random bench to process my thoughts surrounding the question of whether-or-not I'm a "Jesus fan" or a "Jesus follower".
My final thoughts are constantly...yes, constantly...in the back of my mind at all times and not nearly as exciting or thought-provoking:
* what should I make for dinner tonight?
* gosh I hope the laundry is almost done.
* why do the dogs keep shedding so much that I need to vacuum every day?
* are the dishes in the dishwasher clean or dirty?
Someone asked me the other day why I don't have a job? Don't I get bored during the day while the kids are gone?
Honestly...sometimes...yeah...a little bit...(but then I didn't have studies to lead and prepare for).
But most of the time...
...well...before answering that question...let me turn off the TV, get my butt off the couch and finish chewing/swallowing my bon-bon ('cuz mamma taught me not to talk with my mouth full)...
No...not really.
And that, friends, is today's very first...Bench Perspective




No comments:
Post a Comment